Write​_

· 3 minutes read

Rant on html5 and h1 in articles

I was using Firefox’s reading mode on my site one day and thought some stuff looked off. Then I remembered: semantic elements. Maybe that’s why my site sometimes looks weird in reading mode!

One of the things I did was change some <div>s into <article>s. I suppose it helped. It made my html look so much better and nicer. That was maybe half a week ago.

The problem

Today, I edited my about page and condensed and freshened it up a bit. I also added table of contents to every page where relevant. Then I noticed something strange: my <h2>s were the exact same size as the title of the article, which was an <h1>.

Perplexed, I went to DuckDuckGo and searched up my problem.

Some research

I found that someone had the same question as me on StackOverflow, plus more insight. Turns out, the <h1> gets smaller when inside elements like <article>, <aside>, <nav> and <section>.

Apparently, someone decided that the <h1> should get smaller in visual size as you went down nests of such elements. For each nest, you’d have an <h1>. However, having tons of them, all the same size, would be hard to look through. So the <h1> would just get smaller.

Why I hate this

I have no problem with my <h1>s getting smaller down each nest. But my question is: why make it look like the <h2>?

Someone told me that it was better practice to use an <h1> for an article title rather than the site title (i.e. don’t use an <h1> for the title) because the article is considered more important than the site title. Using the same <h1> on every page diminishes the importance of the most important header.

So I did that. My site title is some random <p> tag (as of the time of writing) and my article titles are <h1>s. Except I have <h2>s in my articles too and it looks bad.

Why can’t they make the <h1> smaller and make every other heading look smaller too? Seriously, if you go down the heirarchy enough you could have an <h1> that looks like a pathetic <h6>.

What I did

I wanted this site to use as little CSS as possible but without compromising visual design. And right now, visual design took precedence. I needed to make my <h1>s look like the most important heading there, as they are. Assert dominance and all that.

So here’s what I put:

article h1 {
	font-size: 2em;
	margin: 0.67em 0;
}

And yeah, if I didn’t change the margin too, the <h1> would have an awful amount of space that looks pretty ridiculous. Ugh. Gotta add it in too, I guess.

Just a rant

So yeah. I wish the other headers would, at the very least, get smaller too, so people like me who want to reduce on CSS get to reduce on CSS. Who on earth would want an <h1> to look like an <h2> anyway?

( #dev, #rant )

Last commit: c055c67