Write​_

· 1 minute read

88x31 buttons

From what I figure, apparently there was something called Geocities back in the mid-90s to the 2000s. People joined online ‘cities’ and made personal websites.

One of the things people would add into their sites were these 88x31 images, which sometimes contained links.

They could be anything, really, from random fun gifs to ads to personal ones to show who you knew, et cetera. You can use them to show off the kinds of software you like, or what communities you’re a part of, or whatever.

So I was traipsing about the Fedirings and saw tons of these little cute flashy old-school badges, and I loved them!

I don’t know much about the early internet, but I find a lot of things about it quite charming.

Here are some I made myself:

If I know you and you want me to display one of your buttons, please let me know! I really wanna add some more here.

( #dev, #meta )

Last commit: 5838fa1